Signal and brake light issues.

Jean-Marc Dugas

PCS Member
My 54Xl has decided to have signal and brake light issues the day before the Provincial Motor Vehicle Inspection.

The issue discovered tonight on the way to the garage is as follows:

Headlights off: signal light and brake lights work

Headlights on, both high and low beam, signal lights are not working. Not sure about brake lights. The clear lights that turn on along with the signal lights come on and the signal light in the dash come on dim but do not flash.

Any suggestions on where to start when the car comes back?

I'm no expert but I'd start with checking for good grounds on all of the components. My '73 Lifeliner used to do strange things as well. Turned out to be a bad ground on the highbeam circuit.

As to your video:

No, it appears that you might have an incorrect flasher in the socket. Flashers are rated for the number of bulbs that they will flash. Pull the flasher out of the fuse panel, it is located in one of the four corners, and looks like a small metal rectangular metal box about 1" x 3/4". Once you have it out, check the number of lamps that is marked on it. You will need to count how many bulbs in the front and rear stop / directionals you have. For the directional signals, you only count the bulbs on one side.

Systematic Check for Problems: