REgulations in BC Canada

Hey all,

A question in regards to my 1963 Consort Bonneville Ambo..

My question is in regards of having Emerg. lights and siren in BC. When i have phoned Canadian tire they told me no problem and they can remain on the vehicle. Transport BC told me removal of all red flashing lights n siren necessary. I do not want to remove them. Do i just cover them black? What about the siren? I would like them to be operational for Parades etc, if possible. Canadian tire said they will pass it for me? I am just a little confused by all this, as I am new to this.

Thanks Guys!
David:):):thumbsup:

Most provinces allow you to keep them on so long as you do not use them,no getting through traffic pass here,yet for display and parades they are usually okay,if your transport ministry is like ours in Ontario you ask 10 people and get 10 different answers.

there a a few states were it is not legal to have them on. in that case a cover over the lights, cut out switch on the siren, so that you can not operate it from in the car will usually get you by. tunnel light are a little problem but lollipop lights can be covered with a old sock.

contact Bill Leverett thru this site. He is in BC and has 2 ambulances AND is a BC Ambulance paramedic. He can best answer this

slight correction

The gentleman your calling John is more affectionally known as Ed.and he is one of the go to guys on this site for any questions you have.

BC is probably more permissive than Quebec, I speak for myself, I had my Cadillac with full-vues and beacon for 2 years with no problem, then the first day I used the Superior Pontiac a nutty sargent pulled me (with a police student with him) telling me I was not allowed to have lights on a car which is not an emergency vehicle.