Rear Bumper For 1968 Superior Pontiac

Bill Marcy

PCS Member
I was told that my rear bumper is too far gone to re-chrome. Is this true? So, assuming I need a bumper, does anybody have one? Would anybody know if this bumper is from a standard Pontiac, if so, what year and model?

Attachments

• P1070780.jpg
    P1070780.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 565
I am no expert, but, if the pic you included is the bumper in question, it does not seem that bad...from what I can see...are there holes in it that cannot be seen in the pic? It is rusted badly on the other side? Maybe a second opinion would be in order...that said, maybe a replacement, used bumper would be less expensive than rechroming yours; that is, if your bumper can be found on a mass produced passenger vehicle.

Bill; I think if you look at center of the bumper you will find they cut the bumper in half and added a chunk to widen it . The bumper after some Googeling appears to be a 1962 full size Pontiac rear. A good one should not be hard to find out west one of the AZ. yards perhaps. Also I have had very good luck with the Pontiac Club for parts for my 41 got NOS bumpers guards fenders etc.

you will be 50-50 on that. Sioux plating will get you around 300 for a one piece bumper. I'm guessing you looking at 4 pieces with the filler. the last one I got out of calf for the 72 olds ran me around 125 as I recall. then like you it was cut to fit the CB. then we still ended up plating.

Correction its a 1961 had rectangle Back up lights 1962 has round ones. Otherwise appear the same.

Thank you Pete! I was looking at rear bumpers for 1968, not the same, so I looked at 1967, similar, but not the same bumper ends. So, it is a 61 bumper.
If I get a 61 bumper, it will not fit unless it is cut and widened? Or, will it be okay, do you know how much wider it is?