Wiring Federal Interceptor PA-20A 2E Siren

Hi All...

I am a newbie here...recently retired...my first professional experience as a youth was as an EMT-A in an all white 1972 Superior conversion ambulance with cute curtains...it had plenty of power and offered quite a nice ride.

I recently obtained a Federal Interceptor PA-20A 2E Siren which I would like to restore.

Unfortunately it came with absolutely none of the cabling and of course no microphone. :(

I figure my first step to hoping someone can help me identify a source for the 8-pin power plug and 6-pin signal plug - that connect on the back of this unit...so I can see if the unit even functions anymore after all these years.

Any other thoughts from those that have done this before me will be extremely appreciated - this is my first siren project...! :confused:

William
DFW, Texas

glad you found us I'm sure there is some help here. E-bay is one source for this kind of stuff. always some one dumping a bunch of things there.

William.....contact Gary Cahill at www.rescuemarket.com in Elyria, OH. I'll bet he's got exactly what you need. After you get the required plug(s), wiring up is a snap.....red-hot, black-grouind, 2 speaker wires. Then make some noise!!!!

BTW, welcome aboard the "fun train"/

As an after-thought - I would also appreciate if someone had a wiring diagram for the microphone circuit.

I do have a couple of old Motorola Spectra microphones handy in a box...I would like to try and wire those up to the Federal PA-20A siren unit.

I of course do not have information on the plug I would need other than looking at the circular female socket on the base which has 4 plug connectors.

Again...any and all thoughts are welcome...! :confused:

Thanks for the referral.

I did contact Gary Cahill at ihfiretruck@yahoo.com.